Are You New to Star Wars?

Maybe you’ve just started watching Star Wars and want to be sure you understand it. Or you’ve never seen a Star Wars movie and want to know a little more before you watch your first one. Perhaps you’re a parent of a child that loves Star Wars and you want to be able to share it with them or be sure you think it’s appropriate for their age. Here are some things we consider helpful if you or someone you know is  just beginning the Star Wars journey.

Star Wars is an adventure story of good versus evil

The good guys (the Rebels, the Resistance, the Republic, the Jedi, the Light Side) all fight for freedom, peace, and justice in the galalxy. These are are the heroes of Star Wars, and they come in many shapes and sizes.

The bad guys (the Empire, the First Order, the Separatists, the Sith, the Dark Side) all seek to command others to do what the bad guys ask. Their goal is to cause others to fear them, and when they’re afraid they’re more likely to be obedient. The bad guys do bad (and sometimes frightening) things to get what they want.

Star Wars Basics in Two Minutes!

The Force

Characters in Star Wars often refer to The Force. Some of the heroes known as Jedi and the villains known as Sith use The Force like a superpower, moving things with their mind, flying, levitating, and other fantastic feats.

Who are the Good Guys?

The most well known good guys in Star Wars come from the movies. Here are a few (but nowhere near all) names to know.

From Episodes 1, 2, and 3: Obi-Wan Kenobi, Qui-Gon Jinn, Yoda, Queen Amidala/Senator Padme, Anakin Skywalker, C-3PO, R2-D2, and Mace Windu.

From Episodes 4, 5, and 6: Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia Organa, Han Solo, Chewbacca, Obi-Wan Kenobi, Lando Calrissian, C-3PO, and R2-D2

From Episodes 7, 8, 9: Poe Dameron, Finn, Rey, BB-8, C-3PO, R2-D2, Han Solo, Chewbacca, General Leia Organa, Luke Skywalker

Who are the Bad Guys?

The most well known bad guys in Star Wars also come from the movies. Here are a few (but nowhere near all) names to know.

From Episodes 1, 2, and 3: Darth Sidious, Count Dooku, Darth Maul, Darth Vader, Jango Fett, Nute Gunray

From Episodes 4, 5, and 6: Darth Vader, Grand Moff Tarkin, the Emperor, Stormtroopers

From Episodes 7, 8, 9: Kylo Ren, General Hux, Supreme Leader Snoke, Stormtroopers

The Movies Weren’t Made in Order!

Episode 1 (The Phantom Menace) was not the first movie made, that was Episode 4 (A New Hope). The order of release was: 4, 5, 6, 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, then finally 9.

The order you watch them is up to you. Some watch them in numeric order, 1 through 9. Some watch them in order of release.  And others have their own orders they enjoy. Our family watches them in the order of release because we like the surprises that come into play. But as long as you enjoy watching them, the order doesn’t matter!

Is it Family Friendly?

The question of whether Star Wars in general is family friendly is something families will have to decide for themselves. Our children watched the Star Wars movies before they were two years old. Other families introduce children to the movies at an older age because they are movies that involve war.

The Bad Guys are Bad People

We mentioned earlier that the bad guys do bad things. They’re mean and cruel, and sometimes treat the heroes poorly and hurt (and sometimes kill) them. Death is present in the series, and there are family members that intensely dislike each other and fight over it.

It’s Violent – But Not Overly Violent

Star Wars is a series of stories about war, and the good guys’ struggles to win their freedom back from the bad guys. There are battles and fights, weapons are fired, and people are shot and killed. Most of it is unrealistic. Weapons are usually lasers or lightsabers, and there is very little blood shown in the series. Hands, arms, and heads are occasionally cut off (this is a frequent thing in Star Wars with the use of lightsabers prevalent), but there is very little detail or gore shown, and much of it is off screen.

It’s Mostly Clean

Coarse or crude language is almost never a part of the world of Star Wars.

There’s Something for Everyone

Some stories, like the LEGO Star Wars stories, are intended to be appropriate for all ages. We think there’s something in Star Wars for everyone and would be glad to point you in the right direction.

We hope your family enjoys Star Wars as much as ours!